Celebrating the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

writing contest winners

Students, families and educators gathered at the Marcus Center for the Performing arts yesterday to celebrate the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor the winners of this year’s Dr. King writing, speech and art contests. The theme of this year’s contest: “We have a great deal of positive work to do.”

Click for a photo gallery of the event; click here to watch powerful speeches by first-place winners Terynn Erby-Walker, a student at Alcott who won the 3-4th grade division, and Marissa Robertson, a student at Milwaukee High School of the Arts who won the 11-12th grade division.

About 4,100 students entered the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Writing Contest this year, with an additional 600 students entering the speech and art contests. The writing contest is co-sponsored by MTEA and the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. All students and teachers who participated in the writing contest also received a certificate and button from MTEA last week at school.

The winning writing contest entries were published in a special section of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel on Sunday, January 18. They will be available online soon at jsonline.com.

2014 Writing Contest Winners:

Grades K-1 (Group project)
Grade 1 room 133, Fairview Elementary, Ms. Michaud

Grades 2-3
1st: Blaise Wood, Trowbridge School, Ms. Desire Tyler, grade 3
2nd: Vincent McMurtry, Underwood Elementary, Ms. Kathy Sicula, grade 3
3rd: Jada Akins, Hi-Mount Community School, Ms. Mary Seewald, grade 3

Grades 4-5
1st: Alexa Hernandez, Hayes Bilingual, Ms. Hayes, grade 4
2nd: Edgardo Carrasquillo, Golda Meir, Ms. Richardson, grade 4
3rd: Jasmine Wright, Elm Creative Arts, Ms. Conrad, grade 4

Grade 6
1st: Aracely Esqueda, Manitoba Elementary, Ms. Bahr, grade 6
2nd: Richard Yang, Hartford University School, Ms. Joyce Peoples, grade 6

Grades 7-8
1st: Layal Khreis, Salam School, Ms. Schauer, grade 8
2nd: Darien Crawford, Golda Meir, Ms. Razaa, grade 8
3rd: Kelaiah Smith, Golda Meir, Ms. Razaa, grade 7

Grades 9-10
1st: Pasua Chang, Hmong American Peace Academy, Ms. Meyer, grade 10
2nd: Noemi Gutierrez-Godoy, Riverside University HS, Ms. Gulbronson, grade 9
3rd: Chachee Lee, Riverside University High School, Ms. Gulbronson, grade 9

Grades 11-12
1st: Marissa Robertson, Milwaukee High School of the Arts, Ms. Katter, grade 11
2nd: Abigail Thompson, Milwaukee High School of the Arts, Ms. Katter, grade 11
3rd: Ufaira Shaik, Salam School, Mr. Jason Then, grade 11